Martina Bristow

Martina Bristow’s research looks at the suitability of autonomous surface vehicles as acoustic platforms to monitor zooplankton. Her PhD focuses on echosounder-equipped Wave Glider deployments in the North Sea to study environmental drivers of zooplankton patchiness using active acoustics, as well as assessing weather impacts on acoustic data quality. She is based between the British Antarctic Survey, University of East Anglia, and Centre for Environment, Fisheries and Aquaculture Science.

Pierre Cauchy

Pierre Cauchy’s research focuses on using passive acoustic monitoring sensors on autonomous underwater vehicles to expand their monitoring range. He develops new applications of ocean glider technology for weather observation, marine mammal and soniferous fish detection, and soundscape and anthropogenic noise monitoring.

He is based between the University of East Anglia and Cefas.

Jan Grimsrud Davidsen

Jan Grimsrud Davidsen’s research interests focus on life history strategies, migratory behaviour and habitat use in anadromous fish. In particular, he is interested in how anthropogenic activities and environmental changes may affect anadromy and marine migrations in sea trout (Salmo trutta).

Emma Hatfield

Dr Emma Hatfield is Secretary of the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organization. She started her scientific career as a fisheries biologist with the British Antarctic Survey where she worked for ten years, visiting the South Atlantic and Antarctic oceans. She has since worked in the northwest Atlantic, the northeast Pacific and, more recently, in the northeast Atlantic, during 15 years as a fisheries scientist and fisheries advisor at the Scottish Government. She returned to the UK in September 2017 to take up her current post after three years working in European fisheries policy in the European Commission.

Annette Haugsdal

Track fish? If you ever contact Thelma Biotel, chances are you will meet Annette at the other end. She started working at Thelma Biotel in 2017, mainly with sales and customer support. Having a background from marine technology, she bridges the gap between developers and researchers.

Martin Lykke Kristensen

Martin Lykke Kristensen from the Technical University of Denmark did his PhD on migration behaviour of sea trout. He has used data from positively buoyant DSTs to investigate the movement ecology and mortality of sea trout at sea. His work includes different analytical approaches, such as temperature and depth preferences, activity estimates and geolocation techniques.

Martyn Lucas

Martyn Lucas

Martyn Lucas is an Associate Professor in Aquatic Animal Ecology at Durham University. His team has particular expertise in fish migration, biotelemetry and river restoration and are part of the EU-funded AMBER (Adaptive Management of Barriers in European Rivers) project. With Etienne Baras he coauthored Migration of Freshwater Fishes in 2001. He is active in the ‘Rivers Trust’ movement in the UK.

Ryan Mowat

Dr Ryan Mowat

Dr Ryan Mowat is Director of Fisheries & Research at RS Aqua, where he leads on providing instrumentation solutions to fisheries, aquaculture and marine ecology research groups, and the industries and conservation groups linked to that research. Most of this work involves using underwater acoustics to track fish populations and monitor marine mammals. Ryan also heads up RS Aqua’s in-house R&D group, which develops new technologies for marine science monitoring.

Jan Reubens

Jan Reubens did his Masters in Biology at Ghent University (Belgium), and a second Masters in Marine and Lacustrine Sciences at UGent.

Thereafter, he completed a PhD on the effect of offshore wind farms on the movement behaviour of benthopelagic fish. He started working at VLIZ in 2013, where has been working as a science officer, responsible for the Belgian fish tracking network, the ETN database and scientific diving.

David Welch

David Welch is president of Kintama Research Services Ltd, and the architect of the Pacific Ocean Shelf Tracking project (POST). Under his leadership, Kintama designed and built the major elements of the west coast prototype POST array (2004-11), establishing technical feasibility and demonstrating how to economically scale such systems into unprecedented large-scale measurement systems.  

David is the author of over 300 primary scientific papers and technical reports. He received from Fisheries & Oceans Canada the Prix de Distinction (2007) for “outstanding scientific contributions related to national and international climate change research” relating to his work on the potential impacts of global warming on salmon in the ocean and the Prix d’Excellence (2008) in “Recognition of Exceptional Scientific Contributions to the Government of Canada”. In 2012 he received the Award of Excellence — Fisheries Management from the American Fisheries Society and the J.P. Tully Medal in Oceanography from the Canadian Meteorological & Oceanographic Society, one of Canada’s highest awards in oceanographic science, in recognition of his development of marine acoustic telemetry arrays.

Ken Whelan

Ken is Research Director of the Atlantic Salmon Trust and an Adjunct Professor, School of Biology and Environmental Science, University College Dublin. He served as President of the North Atlantic Salmon Conservation Organisation from 2004 to 2008. As President, he helped co-ordinate and manage the SALSEA or Salmon at Sea Programme. Ken was Chairman of the International Atlantic Salmon Research Board from 2007 to 2011 and is currently Chairman of the Scientific Council of the Loire Basin Salmon Restoration Programme. Ken runs his own fisheries consultancy.

Fred Whoriskey

Fred Whoriskey

Dr Whoriskey is currently the Executive Director of the Ocean Tracking Network (OTN), a global research infrastructure documenting the movements and survival of aquatic animals and their links to environmental conditions. He also chairs the Management Board of the Canadian Rivers Institute, and is involved in a variety of tracking research programmes working with salmonids, eels, cod, sharks and electric rays.